Tags

,

Apparently some keen eyes in the blogosphere noticed my absence, which is unfortunate, because I’d planned to slide in and out of the shadows in such a way as not to be noticed. (Thanks for the interest and concern, folks, it’s nice to know that my ravings were missed.) I’m not dead, I’m not quitting, I just took the scenic route on my way back to blogging. It turned out to be a longer hiatus than anticipated, but having feasted on the highs and lows of the human condition, I believe I’m returning refreshed, reinvigorated, and eager to post anew. Or at least that’s what I tell myself to sleep at night.

So, I have returned. Apologies if I promised you I’d read something specific, since I didn’t, as it wasn’t quite feasible at the time. I have a slew of books I need to review, including two noir classics, a Simak collection, and a recent novella. I also have a single, lonely e-ARC from one of my favorite authors that I’m just itching to dive into. My carefully selected 2016 reading schedule (cough) was thrown out the window, so I’m winging it from here on out.

I also now realize that I skipped celebrating this blog’s 5th anniversary, which happened to be on the same day that I bought a house, so there’s probably a reason I was preoccupied. I wasn’t really sure what I was doing back in July of 2011 other than I’d already written a few book reviews and posted them in various other places and wanted to centralize them (I did, stupidly backdating them to confuse everyone), and that I’d just bought a fistful of Ace Doubles and didn’t have anything better to do. I’m kind of impressed with myself that I’m theoretically still blogging.

Hrrm… fifth anniversary is what, wood? Anyone know of a good genre book with wood in the title?

Anyways, I need to polish off some half-completed reviews over the next few weeks, and start reading something new. I have a clean slate as it were, and there’s a lot of good stuff I’m looking forward to reading. Since autumn is now encroaching into what’s been a really long, hot summer, I’m in the mood for some horror. Classic Silverberg is always a good choice, it’s like comfort food. Then there’s that Mieville I just bought… Give me some suggestions, shout out some of the best books you’ve read since June in the comments!

