Another year, another stack of books.

I’m still impressed that I manage to keep blogging, even on an ad-hoc schedule. I know a lot of good blogs end up dying for bad reasons—lack of time, lack of interest, family or health issues, work/life balance. Some manage to come back, such as the excellent Pulp Serenade; others just fade into the background bits and pixels populating the internet. I don’t intend on stopping—I have too many books to read for that—but this year I did find myself slowing down. I just don’t have the free time I once had, with a review every four days and fifteen reviews (about two months of reviews) queued up at a time.

It’s not that I haven’t been reading, it’s that I haven’t been posting. In case you missed it, here’s my guest post over at Science Fiction Ruminations. I also took on some advance reader copies to kickstart my flagging habit; I posted reviews for most of them, but I had second thoughts and am on the fence about posting some of them. (Nothing dramatic; it’s one company I’ve never reviewed from before, three books, reviews posted elsewhere… but three reviews, that’s about a month worth of content right there; there’s a reason March looks so thin.)

So, I’m back on the wagon, or back off the wagon, or whatever. I’m not sure if I’ll catch up to my yearly goal of a book a week, but I have a lot of good-sounding books on my to-be-read pile.

I wanted to do some posting analytics for future reference, and this is as good a place as any.

Top Posts of the Past Year:

  1. The Early Science Fiction of Philip K. Dick
  2. My Top 11 1960s Science Fiction Novels
  3. Richard Matheson – Assorted Short Stories
  4. The Einstein Intersection – Samuel R. Delany
  5. Adventures in Art: Modern Bond Covers
  6. Sailing to Byzantium – Robert Silverberg
  7. Kiss Her Goodbye – Wade Miller
  8. Adventures in Art – Ed Emsh covers (1)
  9. Something Wicked This Way Comes – Ray Bradbury
  10. Adventures in Art – Frank R. Paul (2) Alien Visions
  11. A Shot in the Dark – Richard Powell

Top Posts (Reviews Only) of the Past Year:

  1. The Early Science Fiction of Philip K. Dick
  2. Richard Matheson – Assorted Short Stories
  3. The Einstein Intersection – Samuel R. Delany
  4. Sailing to Byzantium – Robert Silverberg
  5. Kiss Her Goodbye – Wade Miller
  6. Something Wicked This Way Comes – Ray Bradbury
  7. A Shot in the Dark – Richard Powell
  8. The Faded Sun Trilogy – C.J. Cherryh
  9. Sandkings – George R.R. Martin
  10. The Lathe of Heaven – Ursula K. Le Guin
  11. Before Adam – Jack London

What’s interesting to me is which of the older reivews still get the hits. The Dick and Matheson were posted within the past year, as were Jack London, Richard Powell, and Wade Miller. On the flipside, Martin’s Sandkings and Bradbury’s Something Wicked were some of the earliest posts on here, as was that James Bond cover art post. Most of the rest are from 2012.

Top Posts of All Time:

  1. My Top 11 1960s Science Fiction Novels
  2. The Early Science Fiction of Philip K. Dick
  3. Richard Matheson – Assorted Short Stories
  4. Adventures in Art: Modern Bond Covers
  5. The Einstein Intersection – Samuel R. Delany
  6. Something Wicked This Way Comes – Ray Bradbury
  7. The Voyage of the Space Beagle – A.E. van Vogt
  8. Adventures in Art – Ed Emsh covers (1)
  9. Sailing to Byzantium – Robert Silverberg
  10. Sandkings – George R.R. Martin
  11. Adventures in Art – ’60s-’70s Horror Digests

Top Posts (Reviews Only) of All Time:

  1. The Early Science Fiction of Philip K. Dick
  2. Richard Matheson – Assorted Short Stories
  3. The Einstein Intersection – Samuel R. Delany
  4. Something Wicked This Way Comes – Ray Bradbury
  5. The Voyage of the Space Beagle – A.E. van Vogt
  6. Sailing to Byzantium – Robert Silverberg
  7. Sandkings – George R.R. Martin
  8. The Faded Sun Trilogy – C.J. Cherryh
  9. The Last Castle – Jack Vance
  10. Nerves – Lester del Rey
  11. The City and The Stars – Arthur C. Clarke

Pretty similar, though a lot more of the ’50s SF novels show up—del Rey’s Nerves, and Clarke’s City and the Stars, and Vance’s award-winning Last Castle. None of the crime/mysteries comes close; there’s another three books in the list before Wade Miller’s Kiss Her Goodbye, and five more before Robert Terrall’s Kill Now, Pay Later.

Reviews By Decade:

  • 1900s (1)
  • 1910s (5)
  • 1920s (4)
  • 1930s (9)
  • 1940s (12)
  • 1950s (74)
  • 1960s (54)
  • 1970s (33)
  • 1980s (12)
  • 1990s (2)
  • 2000s (10)
  • 2010s (7)

Most Reviewed Years:

  • 1958 (13)
